Skip to main content

CHASE PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATORS

Use Search Box to filter by entering 1 or more partial search strings
e.g. “yale casc” returns PIs at Yale in Cascades Thrust

NAMEINSTITUTION/EXPERTISEPOSITIONCHASE ROLECHASE THRUST
Anna, Jessica

University of Pennsylvania

Laser spectroscopy, ultrafast dynamics, chemical reaction dynamics, energy science

jmanna@sas.upenn.edu
215-746-2354

Assistant Professor of ChemistryPIMicroenvironments
Atkin, Joanna

UNC Chapel Hill

Near-field optics and imaging, tip-enhanced spectroscopy, plasmonics

jatkin@live.unc.edu
919-962-0528

Assistant Professor of ChemistryPIMicroenvironments

Cascades
Cahoon, James

UNC Chapel Hill

Nanomaterials development, solar & thermal energy, photonics

jfcahoon@email.unc.edu
919-962-3386

Associate Professor of ChemistryPI

Thrust Co-Lead: Integration
Integration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Castellano, Felix

North Carolina State University

Energy transfer, photochemical upconversion, solar fuels photocatalysis

fncastel@ncsu.edu
919-515-3021

Professor of Chemistry, Goodnight Innovation Distinguished ChairPI

Institution Coordinator
Integration

Cascades
Concepcion, Javier

Brookhaven National Laboratory

Chemical, electrochemical & photochemical catalytic processes related to artificial photosynthesis

jconcepc@bnl.gov
631-344-4369

ChemistPI

Technique Coordinator: Catalyst Synthesis & Evaluation

Institution Coordinator
Integration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Dempsey, Jillian

UNC Chapel Hill

Inorganic spectroscopy & solar energy conversion

dempseyj@email.unc.edu
919-962-4617

Bowman & Gordon Gray Distinguished Term Associate Professor of ChemistryCHASE Deputy Director

PI
Integration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Dick, Jeffrey

UNC Chapel Hill

Electrochemistry, nanotechnology, catalysis

jedick@email.unc.edu
919-966-5229

Assistant Professor of ChemistryPICascades
Ertem, Mehmed

Brookhaven National Laboratory

Computational chemistry, artificial photosynthesis, water splitting, CO2 reduction

mzertem@bnl.gov
631-344-7310

Assistant ChemistPIIntegration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Fakhraai, Zahra

University of Pennsylvania

Physical chemistry, materials chemistry, nanoscale science & engineering

fakhraai@sas.upenn.edu
215-746-8436

Associate Professor of ChemistryPIIntegration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Goldberg, Karen

University of Pennsylvania

Catalytic systems, reduction of CO2 to chemicals & liquid fuels

kig@sas.upenn.edu
215-573-6756

Vagelos Professor of Energy ResearchPI

Thrust Co-Lead: Cascades

Institution Coordinator
Cascades
Grills, David

Brookhaven National Laboratory

Artificial photosynthesis, electron- & photo-induced processes for molecular energy conversion

dcgrills@bnl.gov
631-344-4332

ChemistPIIntegration

Microenvironments
Hammes-Schiffer, Sharon

Yale University

Theoretical & computational methods for describing chemical reactions at interfaces

sharon.hammes-schiffer@yale.edu
203-436-3936

John Gamble Kirkwood Professor of ChemistryPIMicroenvironments
Hazari, Nilay

Yale University

Catalysts for chemical transformations, reaction mechanisms, carbon dioxide conversion

nilay.hazari@yale.edu
203-432-0885

Professor of ChemistryPI

Thrust Co-Lead: Integration
Integration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Holland, Patrick

Yale University

Energy research, N2 reduction, catalytic reactions

patrick.holland@yale.edu
203-432-5162

Professor of ChemistryPI

Institution Coordinator
Integration

Microenvironments
Jakubikova, Elena

North Carolina State University

Computational studies of ground and excited state properties, light-induced processes

ejakubi@ncsu.edu
919-515-1808

Associate Professor of ChemistryPICascades
Kanai, Yosuke

UNC Chapel Hill

Theoretical/computational chemistry, first-principles electronic structure theory

ykanai@unc.edu
919-962-3891

Associate Professor of ChemistryPI

Technique Coordinator: Theory & Modeling
Integration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Lian, Tim

Emory University

Nanomaterials, solar energy conversion, ultrafast & nonlinear spectroscopy

tlian@emory.edu
404-727-6649

William Henry Emerson Professor of ChemistryPI

Technique Coordinator: Surface Characterization & Dynamics

Institution Coordinator
Integration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Lockett, Matthew

UNC Chapel Hill

Analytical sensors, surface chemistry, array fabrication, microfabricated devices

mlockett@unc.edu
919-843-9440

Associate Professor of ChemistryPIIntegration

Microenvironments
Lopez, Rene

UNC Chapel Hill

Nanostructured materials, nanofabrication, photovoltaic devices

rln@physics.unc.edu
919-962-7216

Professor of PhysicsPIIntegration
Maggard, Paul

North Carolina State University

Materials for solar energy conversion, characterization of catalytic & photoelectrochemical properties

pamaggar@ncsu.edu
919-515-3616

Associate Professor of ChemistryPIIntegration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Mallouk, Thomas

University of Pennsylvania

Synthesis & assembly of nanomaterials, artificial photosynthesis, surface chemistry

mallouk@sas.upenn.edu
215-898-4859

Vagelos Professor in Energy ResearchPI

Thrust Co-Lead: Microenvironments
Integration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Manbeck, Gerald

Brookhaven National Laboratory

Photochemistry & applications in solar fuels, transient spectroscopy

gmanbeck@bnl.gov
631-344-4360

Assistant ChemistPIIntegration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Mayer, James

Yale University

Interfacial redox reactions for energy conversion technologies such as solar fuel production

james.mayer@yale.edu
203-436-9456

Charlotte Fitch Roberts Professor of ChemistryPI

Thrust Co-Lead: Microenvironments
Integration

Microenvironments
Meyer, Gerald

UNC Chapel Hill

Synthetic chemistry, spectroscopy, electrochemistry

gjmeyer@email.unc.edu
919-843-8313

Professor of ChemistryCHASE Director

PI
Integration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Miller, Alexander

UNC Chapel Hill

Energy catalysis, synthetic organometallic chemistry, metal-ligand cooperation

ajmm@email.unc.edu
919-962-4618

Associate Professor of ChemistryPI

Thrust Co-Lead: Cascades
Integration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Parsons, Gregory

North Carolina State University

Chemical reactions on surfaces, thin film formation by atomic layer deposition

gnp@ncsu.edu
919-515-7553

Celanese Acetate Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular EngineeringPIIntegration

Cascades
Polyansky, Dmitry

Brookhaven National Laboratory

Photochemistry & radiation chemistry relevant to catalysis & solar energy conversion

dmitriyp@bnl.gov
631-344-4315

ChemistPIIntegration

Microenvironments

Cascades
Rodriguez, José

Brookhaven National Laboratory

Catalysis: reactivity & structure, synchrotron-based methods in surface & materials characterization

rodrigez@bnl.gov
631-344-2246

Senior ChemistPICascades
Stach, Eric

University of Pennsylvania

Advanced microscopy techniques to correlate nano-structure of materials to properties & performance

stach@seas.upenn.edu
215-898-2272

Professor, Materials Science & Engineering;
Director, Lab for Research on the Structure of Matter
PI

Technique Coordinator: Semiconductor Synthesis & Surface Functionalization
Integration
Tropsha, Alexander

UNC Chapel Hill

Computational chemistry, cheminformatics, computer-assisted design of molecules & materials

alex_tropsha@unc.edu
919-966-2955

K.H. Lee Distinguished Professor, UNC Eshelman School of PharmacyPI

Data Science Lead
Integration
Wang, Hailiang

Yale University

Materials science, nanotechnology & surface science to tackle challenges in energy storage & conversion

hailiang.wang@yale.edu
203-737-6583

Associate Professor of ChemistryPIIntegration

Cascades